A- A A+

YWCA Monterey Board of Directors

Krista Hanni, President

Krista Hanni has been with the Monterey County Health Department since 2002. Her first role there as an epidemiologist and most recently she serves as the manager of the Department’s Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Unit. She has a Ph.D. in Epidemiology from UC Davis. Krista is a member of several local coalitions, including Impact Monterey County Network and Bright Beginnings. She is very committed to local community empowerment as a means of reducing health inequities. Krista brings science and policy leadership, experience and passion to our Board of Directors.

Rosemary Soto, Vice President

First of all, Rosemary Soto is a Salinas native with 14 years of experience in violence prevention and intervention. Her efforts address gender-based violence, child abuse, and gang violence in our county. Likewise, she is a Management Analyst for the Office of Community Engagement and Advocacy in the Monterey County Administrative Office. There she leads the County’s violence prevention initiatives with a focus on addressing root causes to achieve equity. Hence Rosemary has served as a volunteer on the Commission on Status of Women  and Domestic Violence Coordinating Council. Similarly, Rosemary also participates in National Political Women’s Caucus and Latino Network of Monterey County. Additionally, In the arts, she volunteers with the Hijos Del Sol Arts Productions and Urban Arts Collaborative. Furthermore, as a writer, she contributes to a monthly column for El Sol. 

Finally, Rosemary has served Building Healthy Communities (BHC) since its early planning stages in 2009. She continues to work on related initiatives including, Ciclovia, Adelante Con Orgullo Mujer Inmigrante, and MILPA. Most noteworthy, Rosemary is a member of La Colectiva de Mujeres, a women’s collective committed to policy and systems change for equity through a healing informed approach. We are extremely lucky to have her breadth of experience in education and politics and strong sense of purpose with us on our Board of Directors.

Stephanie Mason, Treasurer 

Stephanie Mason moved to Salinas in 1999 with her husband David. He supported and encouraged her to go back to school and take classes at Hartnell College in 2000. After attending Hartnell, she transferred to Cal State University Monterey Bay. She graduated in 2005, receiving her Bachelor of Arts degree in Social and Behavioral Sciences with a concentration in Sociology. While attending college, she also worked part-time at Monterey County Employees Credit Union while also raising her young son. Hence she continued to work at Monterey County Employees Credit Union after graduating and was employed there for 17 years. She is currently working at Central Coast Federal Credit Union as a Loan Officer.

Besides being part of the Board of Directors of the YWCA for almost three years she is also part of the Community Involvement Committee at the Credit Union to assist in their volunteer work with local organizations, such as the United Way Foundation, Relay for Life, Alzheimer’s Association walk and others. 

Elizabeth Causey,  Secretary

Elizabeth Causey received her bachelors’ degrees in Sociology and Spanish from UC Davis, followed with a Masters Degree in Nursing from Yale University. She has been working as a Family Nurse Practitioner in Salinas since 2009, first with Clinica de Salud del Valle de Salinas and currently with the Monterey County Health Department. Additionally, Elizabeth is passionate about empowering women as an avenue for strengthening families and investing in youth. Born and raised in Monterey County, she is very pleased to be back to serving her community. In her free time, she enjoys being outdoors with her husband and three sons. Certainly, we are overjoyed to have her on our Board of Directors where she steers us the direction of strong relationships and families and empowered youth.

Clementina Macias, Director

Clementina Macias was born and raised in King City, CA. She has a Bachelor’s of Arts in Collaborative Health and Human Services with a concentration in Social Work from CSU Monterey Bay and a Master’s in Education with a concentration in Counseling and Student Personnel from San Jose State University. Since 2007, she has worked as an administrator in higher education promoting educational equity and college access for individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds. As a result she has had the opportunity to give back to her community by providing opportunities for low-income and first-generation students in Monterey and Santa Cruz counties by helping them graduate from high school and pursue a college education.

Clementina has specialized in program management, leadership, academic and educational counseling. She is professionally affiliated with the Council for Opportunity in Education (COE), the Western Association of Educational Opportunity Personnel (WESTOP), and the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA). Due to her expertise and passion for education, she is an asset to developing paths of recovery for the populations we serve. We are incredibly lucky to have her on our Board of Directors.

Kimberly Crossman, Director

Kimberly Crossman, a native Floridian, moved to the Monterey peninsula in 2017. She earned her M.S. and Ph.D. in Human Development and Family Studies from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Kimberly is an assistant professor at California State University Monterey Bay where she teaches courses on intimate and family relationships, family risk and resiliency, and research and writing within her discipline. Her research examines gender-based violence and promotes safety and support for women leaving abusive relationships. Kimberly is also passionate about educating young adults about healthy relationships, helping them to identify, understand, and prevent abuse.

Judy Tschirgi, Director

Judith Tschirgi is retired after a 30 year career in technology, most recently as Chief Information Officer for SEI Investments, Inc. outside Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  A California native, she has only recently returned to California to reside in the Monterey Peninsula.  She has a long history of non-profit leadership in Philadelphia serving on boards related to education, homelessness and civic engagement.  She also was active during her corporate years starting and supporting women’s networks, and providing     training on sexual discrimination and sexual harassment in the workplace.